When promoting a brand in social networks, you can come across a lot of terms and abbreviations, which are very easy to get confused in. So that you understand SMMs at a glance and correctly evaluate the effectiveness of advertising, I have prepared a dictionary of the basic concepts of “SMM language”. Read, understand and increase the return on social media promotion. Faster!

Basic concepts

AIDA

AIDA  (A — Attention, I — Interest, D — Desire, A — Action)  – a concept that describes a standard model of customer behavior.

CTA

CTA (Call To Action) – a call to action. For example: “Subscribe to our account.”

Giveaway

Giveaway (Give) – Contest with certain rules in which the winner is randomly selected. He receives a prize (for example, iPhone, cosmetics, equipment), bought at the expense of sponsors.

LAL

LAL (look-alike) is a technology in social networks that analyzes user behavior and finds similar ones. For example, you can download customer data, and the system will find those who perform similar actions (interested in the topics of garden, cars, etc.).

KPI

KPI (Key Performance Indicators) – the criteria by which the success of an advertising campaign is evaluated. KPIs are determined before launching an ad. For example, as a result of an advertising campaign, there should be at least 150 video views and 500 clicks.

SMM

SMM (Social Media Marketing) – social media marketing. Promotion of a company, brand or product through social networks.

SFS

SFS (Shout out for shout out) is a mutual PR on Instagram when users advertise each other in their accounts.

UTM tag

UTM-tag – a variable that is added to the link of the advertised page of the site and allows you to track the source of traffic.

Example label: www.rrsolutions.eu/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=reklama-seminarov,

where:

  • utm_source = facebook – ad source;
  • utm_medium = social & – type of traffic (pay per click);
  • utm_campaign = vebinar-ad – the name of the advertising campaign.

Auto funnel (sales funnel) 

Auto funnel (sales funnel) is the path that a client walks from the first acquaintance with a product or company to a purchase. The principles of the auto-funnel are formed in the AIDA concept (see above).

Autoposting 

Auto – posting – automatic posting on your account.

Brand advocate

A brand’s lawyer is a person who uses a company’s product or service and talks about it on social networks. It can be a company employee or a loyal customer.

Account

Account – a page on a social network (for example, Facebook or Instagram) with personal user data, photos, videos.

Activity

Activity (interaction) – any actions of followers under a post in social networks: like, share, comment. This is one of the main metrics in SMM.

Retargeting Base 

Retargeting database – a list of users who interacted with the company. For example, they went to a profile or watched a video. As well as users who were collected using parsing.

Blogger

A blogger is a popular user who publishes content in his account.

Virality

Virality is a way to distribute content for free through shares.

Viral coverage

Viral coverage – the number of unique users who watched the Share. For example, if a follower of a page shared a post, then its audience coverage would be considered viral.

Vlog

Vlog is a blog with video content.

Daily limit

Daily limit – the maximum amount per day that can be spent on advertising.

Clickbait

Clickbait – content (title, picture) that attracts attention and motivates users to click on the link, which ensures the maximum number of clicks. Unbelievable headlines and shocking photos are often used.

Content

Content – material that is posted on social networks. For example, a photo or video.

Content marketing

Content marketing is a set of events with the help of which materials that are useful for the target audience are created and placed. The task of content marking is to engage users in interacting with the brand and encourage them to take targeted actions (for example, leave their contact details, place an order).

Content plan

Content plan – a schedule for publishing content on social networks.

Like

Like – a button that says that the person likes the content.

Landing

Landing is a one-page site, a page for selling a product. On it, the user can order the goods or leave their contact details. Landings are created in special site designers (WordPress, Bitrix24, Tilda and others), I can even help you with that.

Lead

Lead – a potential client who has left his contact information or application.

Lead magnet 

Lead magnet – a gift (for example, a check list or a selection of articles) to a potential client in exchange for his contact details or subscription to an account / newsletter. A lead magnet is often the first step in a sales funnel and introduces a future customer to a company.

Lead generation

Lead generation – collection of contact details of people who are interested in a product or service.

Massliking

Massliking – mass affixing in Instagram likes to users who may be interested in a product or service of a company. For this, manual wrapping or special services are usually used. For example, InstaPlus, Toligram. Masslinking can lead to permanent or temporary blocking of the account.

Massfollowing 

Massfollowing is a massive following to Instagram of friends of users who may be interested in a product or service of a company. To do this, use manual wrapping or special services. For example, InstaPlus, Toligram. Massfolding can lead to permanent or temporary suspension of an account.

Media plan 

Media plan – a schedule for advertising campaigns, which indicates the timeline, budget, advertising indicators, social networks and other characteristics.

Cheat

Cheat – an artificial (with the help of programs) increase in the number of subscribers or likes. May lead to permanent or temporary suspension of the account.

Organic reach 

Organic (natural) reach – the number of unique users who viewed the content without advertising. To get organic reach, just post to your account.

Offer

Offer – a limited time offer of a company. For example: “Leave a request for the manufacture of furniture and get a 25% discount.”

Coverage

Reach is the number of unique users who viewed the ad. For example, one ad was shown to one user 3 times. Then the coverage is 1.

Parser 

Parser – a service for collecting a database of users that correspond to certain parameters. For example, friends and relatives of birthday people, users who are in several target communities at the same time.

Pixel

Pixel is the tracking code that is installed on the site. The pixel allows you to set up advertising campaigns for those who visited the site and performed certain actions. For example, the tool helps to target those who visited the Contact page or moved to the Trash but didn’t place an order.

Paid coverage

Paid (advertising) coverage – the number of unique users who viewed the content as a result of paid promotion (most often targeted advertising).

Placement 

Placement is the place where ads on Facebook and Instagram are shown. If we talk about Instagram, it can be a news feed or story (for the definition of story see below).

Impressions

Impressions – The total number of times an ad was viewed. For example, one ad was viewed by two users. One – 5 times, the other – 2 times. 5 + 2 = 7 – the number of impressions of the advertisement.

Sowing

Sowing – mass advertising in third-party communities.

Post

Post – Something (text, image, video) published on a social network.

Advertising office

An advertising office is an advertising management place where advertisements are created, edited and analyzed.

Repost

Repost (or Share) – republishing a post from a group or from another user’s page.

Retargeting

Retargeting is a tool that allows you to show ads to people who have already interacted with a website or company profile. For example, went to the landing.

Support

A support – customer support.

CA segmentation

Segmentation of the target audience – dividing the target audience into groups united by a certain attribute (for example, by type of product, consumer, or motivation to make a purchase). For each segment of the target audience, advertising messages, visuals are selected and targeting is configured.

Split test

Split test (a / b split-testing) – a method that determines which advertising the best audience responds to. Used in targeted advertising. During split testing, several advertising options (pictures and text) are created, which are shown to the target audience. For further advertising, the most effective ad is selected. In this case, the number of clicks on an ad is most often estimated.

Stories

Stories is a format of publications on social networks that allows you to publish content for 24 hours. In Instagram, for example, story can be highlighted in your profile and stays here until you delete it.

Stream

Stream – online broadcast on social networks.

Targeting

Targeting (targeted advertising) is a method that allows you to display ads to the target audience according to the specified parameters. For example, you can configure the display of advertising for parents of children under 7 years old when promoting a children’s hairdresser.

Traffic

Traffic – user clicks to a site or community.

Trip wire 

Trip wire is an inexpensive product that turns a lead into a customer. It is used not for profit, but to bring the client closer to the purchase of the main product. This is often the second step in a sales funnel. For example, for an outerwear store, trip-wires may be accessories: gloves or a hat.

Trolling

Trolling is defiant behavior, provocation and insult on the Internet.

USP

USP is a unique selling proposition that distinguishes the company from its competitors. For example: “Production of furniture of any complexity in 3 weeks.”

Feedback

Feedback – feedback, audience response.

Flood

Flood – messages in comments, chats, which are not related to the topic of conversation and do not bear any benefit.

Hater

A hater is a person who dislikes anyone or anything.

Hashtag

A hashtag is a clickable keyword that helps you find publications on a topic within the same social network. Starts with a hash (#). For example, on the hashtag #SMM on Instagram, you can find publications related to SMM.

Target Audience (TA)

Target audience (TA) is a group of people who may be interested in buying a product or service.

Chat bot

Chatbot is a virtual interlocutor, a program that is designed to simulate human behavior when communicating with other people. Chatbots are usually used in technical support for processing similar orders and advising clients. They respond to the same type of chat messages (on the site, WhatsApp, Direct, etc.)

Performance metrics

Agr

AGR (Audience Growth Rate) – the growth rate of the number of page followers.

How to count

AGR = number of new followers for the reporting period / total number of page followers  * 100%.

For example, the number of new followers per month is 20 people. The total number of followers is 250. AGR = 20/250 * 100% = 8%.

Ber

BER (Brand Evangelists Rate) – the proportion of brand influences, that is, the number of users who periodically and voluntarily positively speak out for the brand, of the total number of followers.

How to count

BER = number of brand influences  / total page followers * 100%.

For example, if brand inluencers are 150 people and the total number of followers is 3,000, then BER = 150/3000 * 100% = 5%.

CAC

CAC (Cost of Customer Acquisition) – the cost of attracting one client, taking into account all marketing costs as part of an advertising campaign. For example: the cost of a commercial, the salary of marketers and employees who advised users.

How to count

САС = the amount of marketing and advertising costs / number of customers.

For example, the sum of all costs is 20,000 Euro, the number of customers attracted is 20. CAC = 20,000 / 20 = 1,000 euro.

CPA

CPA (Cost Per Action) is a model of payment for advertising when it is estimated not the number of clicks or impressions, but a specific result. For example, the number of leads, orders, video views, application downloads.

How to count

CPA = cost of an advertising campaign / number of targeted actions.

CPC

CPC (Cost Per Click) – the cost per click on the payment method “for clicks”. CPC is deducted from the advertising budget each time a user clicks on a link.

How to count

For example, CPC = 7 Euro, an ad went 100 times. 7 * 100 = 700 euro – the amount that will be debited from the account of the advertising account.

CPF

CPF (Cost Per Follower) – the cost of one follower, that is, this is the amount you pay for each user attracted to the group on social networks.

How to count

CPF = campaign cost / number of followers.

For example, an advertising company’s budget is 2,000 euro, an increase of 100 followers. CPF = 2,000 / 100 = 20 euro per follower.

CPI

CPI (Cost Per Install) – the cost of installing the application.

How to count

CPI = campaign cost / number of installed applications.

For example, the advertising company’s budget is 1,000euro, the number of installed applications is 20. CPI = 1,000 / 20 = 20 euro for one installed application.

CPL

CPL (Cost Per Lead) – the cost of the lead.

How to count

CPL = campaign cost / number of leads.

For example, the budget of an advertising campaign is 5,000 euro, the number of leads is 50. CPL = 5,000 / 50 = 100 euro for one lead.

CPM

CPM (Cost Per Mille) – cost per 1,000 impressions of an ad.

How to count

Ad Cost / Impressions x 1,000.

For example, an ad was shown 8,000 times in a week, and 2,000 euro were spent. CPM = 2,000 / 8,000 * 1000 = 250 euro – the price for 1,000 impressions of the banner for the week.

CPO

CPO (Cost Per Order) – the cost of the order.

How to count

CPO = campaign cost / number of orders.

For example, the advertising company’s budget is 7,000 euro, the number of orders is 20. CPO = 7,000 / 20 = 350 euro — the cost of one order.

Clickthrough rate

CTR (Click-Through Rate) – an indicator of the click-ability of an advertisement. Estimates how many users who viewed the ad followed it. CTR is different for different ad formats, so it’s better to compare data from similar campaigns with each other. If the click-through rate is low, analyze what is wrong with the settings of the advertising campaign and correct the situation.

How to count

CTR = clicks / impressions x 100. Measured as a percentage.

For example, an ad was viewed 2000 times, the number of clicks was 30. CTR = 30/2000 * 100 = 1.5%.

eCPC

eCPC (Effective Cost Per Click) – effective cost per click. Shows the average cost per conversion.

How to count

eCPC = amount of money spent on an ad / number of clicks. For example, 500 euro were spent on displaying an advertisement, and 45 clicks were received. ECPC = 500/45 = 11.11 euro.

Er 

ER (Engagement Rate) – the involvement of the publication. Shows how the audience responds to content.

How to count

There are several calculation formulas. A popular formula shows how many reactions occur per 100 followrs: ER = (likes + reposts + comments) / number of followers * 100%. For each target audience, this value may vary.

For example, for an account with 3,000 followers, a post scored: 50 likes, 10 shares and 15 comments. ER = (50 + 10 + 15) / 3,000 * 100% = 2.5%. That is, an average of 2.5 reactions per 100 followers.

OL

OL (Organic Likes) – organic audience growth. These are the people who themselves found your community on social networks and subscribed to it.

How to count

This indicator is calculated by the social network. You can see it, for example, on Facebook in the section “Statistics”> “followers”> “Net increase in followers”> “Organic followers”.

ROI 

ROI (Return of Investments) – an indicator of payback. Measured in percent. The higher the ROI, the higher the payback. ROI determines how much profit has grown as a result of an advertising campaign.

How to count

ROI = (income – cost) / amount of investment * 100%.

For example, an advertising campaign generated income of 50,000 euro, the cost of goods – 8,000 euro, investments (for targeted advertising) – 5,000 euro. ROI = (50,000 – 8,000) / 5,000 * 100% = 840% return on marketing investment.

Time on site by SM

Time on site by SM  – time on the site spent by users who switched from social networks. Having counted this indicator, you will be able to understand:

  • how targeted the community audience is;
  • how much the content in the community matches the content on the site;
  • how interesting the content on the site is.

How to count

You can see all traffic to the site from social networks in the statistics counters. For example, in Google Analytics, this data is located under Traffic Sources> Social Networks.

Unlike rate

Unlike rate – the percentage of user unfollows from the page.

Conversion 

Conversion – the ratio of the number of website visitors to the number of those who committed targeted actions on it. Measured in percent.

How to count

Conversion = number of targeted actions / number of visitors.

For example, as a result of targeted advertising, 1,000 people went to the site. The number of orders (targeted actions) is 20. Conversion = 20/1000 * 100% = 2%.